Review on magazine types

My personal favourite type of magazine is the print version. And here are the reasons why I prefer the printed version over the app and over the website magazine (digital):

  1. The most important reason of all: Printed magazines make them feel personalized and you can do whatever you like with them. You can lend, borrow, share, cut pictures and piece of text from them for your scrapbooking hobby. Anything.
  2. I actually tend to absorb a better understanding and knowledge from a printed magazine than a digital one. Maybe one of the reasons for this is that when I’m using computer devices, I tend to get carried away by distracting objects…even by a simple advert.
  3. The obvious reason that is is much easier to read and also more convenient and you can read it wherever, however and whenever you want without having to worry about internet or battery charge.
  4. The smell of the printed magazine, especially when newly purchased. Yep nothing beats that sensory pleasure.

Of course however, printed magazines have their own disadvantages as well. Here’s a few of them:

  1. Nowadays we expect too much. So much information and news going on, that it is very difficult to keep up with in printed form. In digital form you are always up to date. You just download the app or go online in the website and can tune in easily for the latest news.
  2. Interactivity. Apps and websites are far more interactive than printed magz. Videos you can watch, links you can click on, visuals, comment section. These are all attributes that contribute to the user’s needs and make their experience a better, more interactive one.
  3. Feedback is important. Whenever you launch a product, you would want feedback on it. Same goes for magazines and its articles. With a website you would know which articles are more popular and get more attention than others, helping you give priorities and put better use to your resources. In printed form you are limited to feedback.
  4. One thing I really like about digital magazines over printed, is that you can get a different perspective and opinions from other users like yourself, where the article can become discussive, unlike the printed version.

Website magazine or App?

I have already said that I prefer the printed version over these two but these options are pretty good and I do make use of them as well so if I had to choose between them…

Well it depends really…for me it’s all about the environment. Am I comfortably relaxed at home? Then I’d rather read a magazine on a website than use the app for it. It seems faster and more efficient in my opinion. On the other hand am I outside on a bench drinking a cup of coffee? Then the app is the way to go.

I find website and app both very interactive compared to the printed version and that is one thing I really like about them. One is also constantly updated as I’ve mentioned before which is another plus and you can easily navigate from one article to another in both cases.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.